skip to main content

NCHAM: National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, Utah State University

Family to Family Health Information Centers & EHDI Programs: Engaging & Supporting Families of Children with Deafness & Hearing Loss

a speech therapist working with a child and parent

When: Wednesday, February 8, 2017, 2:00 pm ET, 1:00 pm CST/ 12:00 noon MST, 11:00 am PST

Where: Adobe Connect

On Wednesday, February 8 at 2ET, NCHAM and Family Voices will be co-hosting the webinar Family to Family Health Information Centers & EHDI Programs: Engaging & Supporting Families of Children with Deafness and Hearing Loss.

Introduction and Facilitator: William Eiserman (NCHAM)

Moderator: Bev Baker (Family Voices)

Panelists: State Participants:

  • Maryland: Tanya Green (EHDI)/Cheri Dowling (F2F at Parents Place of Maryland)
  • Utah: Stephanie McVicar (EHDI)/Gina Pola-Money (F2F at Family Voices of Utah)
  • Virginia: Kathleen Watts (EHDI)/ Dana Yarbrough (F2F at Parent to Parent of Virginia)

This interactive webinar will include a panel of three EHDI coordinators and their correlating Family to Family (F2F) Health Information Center coordinators who will share their experience in effectively partnering to engage and support families of children and youth with deafness and hearing loss. The information they share will include aims, outcomes, and strategies they have used to improve services to and outcomes for families of children with deafness and hearing loss from screening, diagnosis, early intervention, service delivery, quality improvement, parent to parent support, and family voice at the policy level.  In addition to the partner panel, Family Voices will provide an overview of the parent and professional training available through the National Center for Family Professional Partnerships and the role of the Family to Family Health Information Centers in each state.  The goal of this webinar is for state EHDI teams to learn about innovative strategies to partner with F2Fs to improve EHDI programs and enhance family-professional partnerships at all levels.